Reading list 2010

These are all the books I read during 2010. I felt that I’d been reading too many translated classics and decided to focus on books originally written in English. I also favoured 20th century writers as my reading fixation tended to be works penned (literally) no less than 150 years ago. The exception was Thomas Hardy’s Jude the Obscure which might be the single most depressing book I’ve ever read. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Nonetheless, the old Russians appeared a couple of times — but who can refuse a good Russian?

The Voyage Out – Virginia Wolf
Out of Africa – Isak Dinesen
Angelas Ashes – Frank McCourt
The Complete Stories – Truman Capote
Devils – Fyodor Dostoevsky
How Proust Can Change Your Life – Alain De Botton
White Fang – Jack London
Selected Stories – Anton Chekhov
1984 – George Orwell
The Art of Travel – Alain De Botton
Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
On the road – Jack Kerouac
Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
The Death of Ivan Ilyich – Leo Tolstoy

About cardboardbird

cardboardbird doesn't even exist.
This entry was posted in Administrivia. Bookmark the permalink.