A new old saw

Rip saw before and after

One weekend I took a handsaw and length of timber and cut it until it was too short to make any more cuts. At the end I had two things – a pile of firewood and the ability to saw square and plumb. I had one saw. It was as blunter an old man’s opinion on pop music, so I learned to sharpen it. It worked a lot better. I started to scour second hand stores and flea markets and acquired a few more old saws that might not have been used for 30 years. The were rusted and dull and broken.

I bought this 5 ppi Diston rip saw from a junk store for $3. “Many people buy those to put up on the wall of their bar” the owner said as I handed him the coins. I told him I wasn’t interested in decoration and intended to use it to saw wood. And so I did and it does. I shaped a new Jarrah handle since the old one had cracked in the rain. Perhaps not the most elegant looking saw but it is comfortable in the hand and entirely functional.

About cardboardbird

cardboardbird doesn't even exist.
This entry was posted in Handmade. Bookmark the permalink.