Wedged through tenons

Wedged tenons
Wedged through tenons. Pine with Jarrah wedge.

I made some wedged through tenons on a stool I’m making out of some spectacularly fugly pine. I thought through tenons would be a fun technique to try and wedging them with a contrasting hardwood (Jarrah in this case) would jazz it up and take the attention away from the awful grain, but nope, still looks like underwhelming so I’m going to paint it white and use a slab of some nice wood for the seat. The finished thing might be more interesting, but at my pace that will several weeks away.

Nonetheless I was compelled to photograph the better wedges before the paint went on and post it here for posterity.

About cardboardbird

cardboardbird doesn't even exist.
This entry was posted in Handmade. Bookmark the permalink.